Coed Varsity Swimming · Boys Team Finishes 6th, Breaks More School Records at Metro Conference Swimming Championships

A week after fellow junior Caiden Williams set a school record in the Butterfly, Ben Mills shattered the school mark in the 200 Freestyle.  Mills placed 6th overall while breaking Tyler Mona’s boys’ record from 2017 and Shandra Johnson’s school record from 1995. Mills’ time also earned him his first automatic state qualifying time of his career. In the 100 Freestyle, Mills placed 3rd, the highest placing by a Viking individual since Hilton Smith set the school record and placed 2nd in the same event in 2002.

The team of Williams, Mills, Nate Schlader and Davion Scott-Bell improved their recent school record in the 200 Medley Relay, placing 4th in the conference. It was the best finish by a Vikings’ relay team at the conference meet since 2006.  Williams improved his Butterfly time, placing 7th.  Scott-Bell, a junior, and Seamus Cavanaugh, a senior, earned the first state auto cuts, placing 6th and 7th in the 100 Breaststroke.  Scott-Bell missed the boys’ school record in the 200 Individual Medley by 0.58 seconds, placing 13th at the meet. Teammate Richard Throckmorton placed 16th with the 5th fastest IM in school history.

Career best times were also posted by:

Schlader (100 Freestyle and 100 Backstroke), Cavanaugh (50 Freestyle, when leading off the 200 Freestyle Relay), Darden Tetley (100 Freestyle), Lawrence Williams (200 Freestyle), Noah Richardson (200 Freestyle & 500 Freestyle), Trevor Gibbons (200 Individual Medley), Reggie York (50 Freestyle).

As a team, the Vikings placed 6th in the conference, their best finish since the 2001 team placed 5th.

The Vikings now await seeding for the 2021 Nebraska State Swimming and Diving Championships, to be held at Lincoln’s Bob Devaney Sports Center on Friday-Saturday, February 26-27, 2021. Williams, Mills, Scott-Bell, Cavanaugh, and two boys’ relays have automatically qualified to compete. There are two individual Viking girls, two other individual Viking boys, plus two girls’ relay teams, eligible through secondary qualifying times, with NSAA to invite the fastest 32 swimmers submitted for each event.